Well, if you have been playing or watching tennis for quite some time, you must be familiar with the term “walkover”. Although the general meaning of the term is just to hand the game to one of the opponents without any competition, the reasons for it are quite several as per conditions. In this particular article, I will try to explain the proper definition of the term itself, while also throwing light at the conditions where it is applied. So make sure not to miss a point!
What is a Walkover in tennis?
To give the term a proper definition, they can be defined as:
“The handing over of victory to one of the contestants if the other player, due to any reason, doesn’t play the game, or is disqualified due to a violation of game rules, and code of conduct”
Now, although the term has the same meaning, it applies to different conditions that are mandatory to know. So here’s where you can expect a walkover:
- If you don’t reach on time
If you fail to reach the tennis court within 30 minutes after the given time without providing any reason 24 hours before the game, the victory will be handed to your contestant and the game will end before the competition. This is also known as default.
- If you get injured
If you get injured before or between the game and aren’t able to play the rounds, the game will be handed over to your opponent without competing any further. These points will add to his/her scorecard and will help the player to advance further in the tournament.
- If you abandon the match
If you abandon the match without even playing when your contestant is all ready, you will be considered a loser and the contestant will be given the points.
- If you violate the conduct
Violation of conduct also serves as one of the major reasons for walkovers or defaults. This is to make sure that the players remain in respect circles and promote sportsman spirit throughout the round. Some violations of conduct include the usage of audible foul language, misbehaving with any official, breaking a racket intentionally, or delaying the game without any apparent reason.
The best example of it is the elimination of Novak Djokovich from his fourth round of the US open Match, where he hit the umpire or judge with the ball. This resulted not only in him defaulting from the game but big fines and withdrawal from the tournament.
Will a walkover count as a loss?
Technically not. Although either of the contestants can be regarded as a victor in the game, the other one won’t be counted as a loser, unless he/she violates the game conduct.
Moreover, though it will help the winner in some places on the scorecard, it doesn’t add up as a match win or match loss to their overall record. This can be further confirmed by the fact that when Serena Williams withdrew from the US Open tournament because of an injury. Although her competitor Tsevetana Pironkova was given a walkover, it didn’t count as a “loss” to Serena’s record.
More From Us: